orgigeorgie

Guide - How To 'detail' Your Alfa

Ok so this is a ‘small’ tutorial to get you all started with some detailing. I will cover in some detail however I will do my best to avoid making it daunting.

I’m actually a student engineer who did this as a personal hobby now I’ve started my own business to help me through the last 2 years. I am by no means and expert, there are many of those on the internet. I’m still learning and am more than happy to be corrected. I do not wish to make millions off this either, but detailing someones car who is passionate is far more rewarding than someone who has no idea. The following is what I have learnt over doing many cars and educating myself.

I’d like to credit a member from another forum shiny_car - whoes tutorial helped me get started.

Detailing, what is it?

Lets be honest, when we discuss detailing we mean polishing. Removing all the swirl marks and scratches from the surface and hopefully being left with something of presentable quality. However the entire process before polishing is where the true results come from.

The problem that most experience when undertaking detailing is simply how long this takes. Trust me it gets easier and the trick is maintenance. Will talk more about that later. Focus on the early steps and the rest falls into place. :)

IMAG0640_zpsb97923ce.jpg

Fig 1. Swirl Marks exhibit A

IMAG0652_zpsdb7df9b6.jpg

Fig 2. Swirl Marks exhibit B - notice the 3 buckets.

Step 1 - Rinse

Rinse the car. Some may say this is redundant but it takes about 2 min and makes the job later on easier. A simple pressure rinse will dislodge a lot of the loose dirt, wet the surface and allow step 2 to do a better job. Thats it!

Step 2 - Soak