Sign in to follow this  
2spark

I want to detail my 156

Having only ever having done the wash/wax thing on my car i think it's time for a bit more. It's a red 156 and the paint work is generally in good nick. A few chips and a few scratches that look a bit to deep to polish out but would probably t-cut out but I've been told not to use it.

The car is also covered in swirls, not bad but do show up in sunlight. I hear that there is stuff out there that will sort it out such as super resin polish, gloss coat etc but I'm a total newbie to all of this and wouldn't really know where to start??

i don't even know what the 2 bucket method? is.

Any help, guides, product advice really appreciated

polishing it with super resin polish is going to make ya arm ache, unless you've a polishing machine.

i'd wash it, clay it, glaze, wax.

i like to detail on a budget.

any shampoo

bilt hamber clay

clearKote red moose

megs 16 wax

polishing it with super resin polish is going to make ya arm ache, unless you've a polishing machine.

i'd wash it, clay it, glaze, wax.

i like to detail on a budget.

any shampoo

bilt hamber clay

clearKote red moose

megs 16 wax

SRP will amke your arm ache and last a few washes before the fillers that hide the swirls come out. :sad:

I used to try and polish by hand but found it almost impossible, so I bought myself a rotary polisher. I soon realised that it's not a fire breathing monster and with some practice the results can be stunning.

i'm yet to make the leap into machine polishers. i'm lost and don't know what to get.

If you aren't ready to machine polish it, SRP is pretty good stuff. 2-3 goings over with that, followed by a coat of Extra Gloss protection will reduce the swirls quite a bit but, as pointed out above, they will come back.